Got Social?
"You are talking about the nonsensical ravings of a lunatic mind."

.swf to .mov

I have a problem and I’m hoping someone out there in the ether can help. I have these files, machinima, I filmed using Jing and saved up on Screencast. I download the files and the format is .swf. What I want/need is something I can bring into iMovie to be edited and end up looking something like this.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i6C3M_2ugio

I did find a free tool but as you can see it overlays its logo intermittently across the screen.

We do have Adobe Flash on the computer I am using, and one would think it would be easy enough to open a flash file (swf) and do a save ad, but the save options (other than save all) are grayed out. I searched the help within Adobe Flash, which yielded nothing. I’ve also searched via Google and, even though I specify Mac, I get a ton of tools that are Windows only.

There has GOT to be a way to do this – without having a logo float across the screen. The application was $100 to get a version that does not float the logo and its just not worth it for such a short time limited use (plus our budget is busted anyway).

Anyone else have any other ideas?

8 Responses to “.swf to .mov”

  1. AJ,

    I don’t know much about this kind of stuff. But perhpas this is a useful step by step with Flash player:

    http://www.videotoflash.net/mov-to-swf.htm

  2. First, I would see if you can save it as an fla file, which can be more easily exported than the swf.

    I guess Jing pro would have been a cheaper alternative and it would make mpeg4s; can you upgrade to Jing Pro and then work with what you have on Screencast? It’s only $14.95 a year. Of course, Jing’s parent company makes Camtasia, so they probably don’t want it all to be too easy.

    Good luck. I use Snapz Pro for the few machinima I’ve made.

    • Grinn, the file can only be exported as swf and there is zero budget for this (in state schools there is zero budget for pretty much anything – we’re hoping they don’t start furloughs!).

      I also don’t plan to invest in Jing/Screencast anymore because I, too, have started using SnapX Pro – which I love!.

  3. Aj,

    I think you use a Mac. Right?

    I just noticed that the link I originally posted was from obe to swf. Here is a link on how to convert swf. to mov on Macs.

    http://www.swfconverterformac.com/swf-to-mov-converter-for-mac.htm

    • Margaret, thanks for pointing me to that software. That is a trial version, the full version is $50. The trial version only converts up to 5 minutes but will cut in 1/2 the clip if its under 5 minutes. They, of course, don’t tell you this until you’ve already downloaded the software, gotten the clip into the application, and want to convert it. Thanks for suggesting it, I added my comments so that others will know before they consider it.

  4. VideoLAN (VLC) can probably do it, though it’s not the easiest too for the non-technical. If VLC will play the file, there’s an advanced streaming section in File -> Open. You should be able to transcode to another format (but you’ll need to know the types you want for the video & audio streams as well as the container format).

    • Brian, thanks. I downloaded VLC and when I tried to open the .swf file it seemed to read it as a audio file. I wasn’t sure how to make it try to see it as a video file.

  5. What about swf to mov i use Flash to Video Encoder PRO http://geovid.com/Flash_to_Video_Encoder_PRO/.It's nice prog.


Leave a comment