Got Social?
"You are talking about the nonsensical ravings of a lunatic mind."

SnapSession: TextTheMob

Sarah Robbins recently told me about a presentation she did using a Web 2.0 tool called TextTheMob.  The tool is designed to get the audience involved in the presentation, lecture, class, event, etc….  I decided to check this tool out to see how well it passes the 15 minute SnapSession test.

Set up was pretty easy, trying to figure out how to use it was a bit harder.  For instance, I was looking for a URL to give to people in order to see the poll and how to do that was not intuitive.  When I launched my survey I eventually found it – so again, not so complicated, but it would have been nice to have that information on the info pages leading up to the “launch”.  All in all, a little poking around and this could be a useful tool when used properly.

The big assumption here is that people in your audience have a cell phone or computer they can use and that they are willing to use it.  I would think, most people have cell phones, so it wouldn’t be a problem to get them engaged using them.  I guess this would actually depend on the age of the audience (I hate to say that) and the text messaging plan of the individual.

Clearly younger people are much more facile using text messages.  I’ve watched my 15 year old niece use her non-QWERTY keyboard cell phone and text at a mile a minute.  I am not nearly that fast and I have a full keyboard (iPhone) and my mom, who does text back and forth to my niece, can do it but is much slower.  I don’t think this has anything to do with ability as much as it is just being accustomed to doing it.

So, I decided to make my first attempt using TextTheMob a test to see if people would use this tool as an audience member.

I provided the first answer.  The question is:  When attending a presentation, lecture, or class, would you ever use an SMS (text msg) or Mobile Web based tool to participate? and the answer options are Definitely Yes, Yes, Probably, Probably Not, No, and Definitely Not.  First, I noticed that TTM only allowed for 5 answers at first, you need to “ask” for more if you want.  I’m partial to even number answers, since I believe most people will take the “middle” option if the case of a “draw” or “not sure”.  Even options force the respondent to pick one side or the other.  So, in my sample above, you have to be for or against, even with the probably option available.

The web page that comes up clearly does not like the 6th option since it is not even on the screen.  The web page one can go to in order to “vote” via the web – the initial display is fairly simple but the results display in unattractive and will be unclear to many.

The instructions one is given on the web page are

To vote, text
RETURN   ID675   option
to 41411

For example send “RETURN
ID675   1

to vote for the first option.

or go to
http://m.textthe
mob.com/id675

[Standard messaging fees apply]

So – the question is open to you.  Please text your answers (per the texting instructions about) or visit the web page and reply there.  Once you’ve done so, I’m interested in hear more about what you think of the tool and the results.  Please feel free to leave your comments below.

No Responses to “SnapSession: TextTheMob”

Leave a comment